German Embassy Kathmandu

Name

German Embassy

Head

Roland Schäfer, Ambassador

Town

Kathmandu

Tel.

+977 1 441 27 86, +977 1 441 65 27, +977 1 441 68 32, +977 1 441 66 55

Fax

+49-30-1817-67212

Postal address

Gyaneshwor Marg 690

Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany, P.O. Box 226, Kathmandu, Nepal.

Street

Gyaneshwor, Kathmandu.

P.O. Box

POB 226

Country

Nepal

Opening hours

in general:
Mo-Fri 9:00-11:30 AM or by appointment

for visa matters:
submission of visa applications Mo-Fri 9:00-11:30 AM
 visa-collection                            Mo, Wed 2:00-3:00 PM
Fri 12:00-1:00 PM

for consular matters other than visa applications

e.g. certification of documents:
Tue, Thu 08:00-08:30 AM

for opening a blocked account:
Tue 2:00-2:30 PM

for collection of documents concerning blocked account:
Thu 2:00-2:30 PM

for German passports and urgent matters of German citizens:
Mon-Fri 9:00-11:30 AM

How to Reach us in Case of Emergency:
Out of office hours and on weekends and holidays there is an emergency service which can be reached by the phone numbers: +977 9851137942 (Nepali) and +977 9851137943 (English, German). Please note that the emergency service office cannot handle visa matters, these can only be dealt with during our regular office hours.

Administrative / consular district

Nepal

Website

http://www.kathmandu.diplo.de

Contact the Embassy

Official languages of local authorities: Nepali, Englisch

Please note: If you are using a telephone- or fax-Connection via sattelite (Satcom) higher charges might occur.

Please note that our Embassy is closed on the following

2019

This year our Embassy will remain closed between the 21st December 2019 and 1st January 2020. The Emergency phone line will be open duringthat time. Please be aware that visa inquiries are no emergency.

day month week day name of holiday
1 January Tuesday New Year’s Day
8 March Friday Internat. Women’s Day
19 April Friday Good Friday
22 April Monday Easter Monday
1 May Wednesday Labour Day
10 June Monday Whit Monday
19 September Thursday Constitution Day
3 October Thursday German National Day
7 October Monday Dashain /Maha Nawami
8 October Tuesday Dashain /Vijaya Dashami
27 October Sunday Tihar/Laxmi Puja
29 October Tuesday Tihar /Bhai Tika
24 December Monday Christmas Eve
25 December Wednesday Christmas day
26 December Thursday Christmas day
31 December Monday New Year’s Eve

2020

day month week day name of holiday
1 January Wednesday New Year’s Day
10 April  Friday Good Friday
13 April  Monday Easter Monday
1 May Friday Labour Day
8 May Friday 75th Anniversary End of WW2 (public holiday only in 2020)
1 June Monday Whit Monday
26 October Monday Dashain /Vijaya Dashami
17 November Tuesday Tihar /Bhai Tika
24 December Thursday Christmas Eve
25 December Friday Christmas day
31 December Thursday New Year’s Eve